How The Cochlear Works

It’s been five days since the surgery and I’m still feeling a little sore but it’s not too painful. I may have been misinformed and it turned out that I didn’t have a checkup yesterday. I only need to go in on Thursday for a checkup along with the stitches removal so no update from the doctor. I left the house last night for the first time since the surgery to get dinner with my brother. I had a hoodie on since my incision isn’t the most attractive feature to have in public. Though it felt good getting out out of the house for once! The incision is healing really well thanks to the helpful cleaning maintenence of my mother. I’ve also counted nineteen stitches across after taking a picture of it. Nineteen!

Since some of you have been asking exactly what happened in the surgery and how the implant works in my ear. I got some images and information from the Cochlear website and thought I’d explain it on here! The instrument below, called the Nucleus Implant, is what has been “implanted” into my head. The big circular figure is the magnet and the two long strings are electrodes that were inserted into my cochlea. The cool part is that the surgeon was able to calculate that the electrodes were placed in the right spots in my cochlea. With that done, it will be able to work properly for sure on activation day!

Implant

The next picture is the Nucleus Sound Processor, which will be what I put on my ear on the outside. The circular piece will obviously be attached to the magnet inside my head. The Sound Processor will transmit information from it’s microphone to the Implant. This equipment will function similar to how hearing aids work. Both have microphone and processes sound, but in different ways.

proc_carbon-coil_smoke

Finally, the figure below gives us the full story. Cool, right? Feel free to check out the Cochlear website for more info!

Print

 

Leave a Reply

