The Day Before

Tomorrow’s the big day! I am actually feeling more excited then nervous today. It feels like I have been ready for this day to come for a while. I’ve been talking to friends and family about it these past few days and I get so excited every time I think of the new sounds I will hear. I am also eager to get a little bit more out of life itself day in and day out. I’m a sappy believer in the small things mattering most in life. So hearing more and more small details will make a huge difference for sure.

UPenn called today and gave me the details of instruction and series of event. I will have to stop eating at 12am tonight. I also will stop drinking water at 4am (so much for the hydration plan). Then the surgery will start at 7:15am! It should be a three hour surgery, or at least I’ll be under for that long. Then I should be able to come back home later in the day. This is gonna be fun.

I’ll leave one of my favorite quotes from Game of Thrones that everyone should be reminded of every now and then:

“Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armour yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.”

– George R.R. Martin

One thought on “The Day Before

  1. Hey Connor~I am an old friend and neighbor (when we were kids) of your mom and all her brothers and sisters. Congratulations on your successful surgery! I sincerely hope you are thrilled with your improved hearing. As the veteran of many difficult spinal surgeries (I’m recovering from one now) I believe you faced your surgery bravely and with good humor. Finally, I live in NYC and make my living as a corporate events Creative Director and writer. I would miss a beat if I failed to compliment you on your prose! Best wishes on a fast recovery and please pass on my regards to your mother.

    Like

Leave a Reply

